you're reading...
About the Author, About the Book

Write What You Know

Writing

During my pre-teen and teenage years I wanted to be…a lawyer, but not just a lawyer. I wanted to be a civil rights lawyer. Growing up in an African-American household, my parents’ (as well as my ancestors’) stories were intriguing, compelling, and sometimes downright unbelievable. However, when I became an adult I attended university and obtained my first bachelor’s degree in International relations. I wasn’t quite sure if law school was really for me and decided that I would attend school for another two years to earn a second bachelor’s degree in paralegal studies. I had begun an internship at the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Maryland in my second year and was offered a full-time job at the end of my internship.

I enjoyed my internship so much that I said yes to the job offer. It was also an honor to have been offered a job with the ACLU. After a stint with the ACLU, I moved on to working as a paralegal at law firms in Washington, D.C. and as a case manager at an international war crimes tribunal in The Hague, Netherlands. I realized that I didn’t want to be a lawyer, but I did enjoy helping people with their problems. I enjoyed being a paralegal.

During my professional career (spanning 15 years now) I have had the privilege of working at a few renowned organizations, companies, and with some revered attorneys and great teams. I have lost count on how many interesting cases I have worked on, but the experiences that I have been a part of have enriched my life and provided me with the knowledge I need to write.

You may be wondering how I came to write The Parallel World. My story so far shows someone that has been crafting a legal career, not a writing one. In many ways you are correct. I would have agreed with you if it wasn’t for something that happened to me in 2006. I was at home on an extended sick leave in pain and feeling sorry for myself. I was bedridden with only the television and books as comforts during the day. At a certain point I decided that I needed to take my mind off of my situation. I had always been an avid reader. One day, I had decided to challenge myself and attempt to write a book. I had begun to write about what I know: I had begun to write about a paralegal that was questioning her career choice, a paralegal that suddenly found herself in a case that would change her life forever. Every day I wrote a little more. Once I returned to work, I decided to continue writing and finished the first draft of The Parallel World in December 2007. I learned during this time that my love affair with books didn’t stop at reading. I had a passion for writing. Now, I am proud to say that my dream has become a reality and my debut novel, The Parallel World, is being sold on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, The Book Depository, iBooks (TBA) and in your local book store.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

