you're reading...
Writing

Sabotaging Your Writing Career to Avoid Progress and Success

Mt.Fuji and Lake Shojiko by hoge asdf

I just took one month off from blogging and writing. I know what you’re going to say: you just killed your blog! Well, I can tell you one thing for sure – my Facebook stats are in
the toilet, but I needed to take a break. Why? I had become THE expert procrastinator. I had been working hard these past few months, especially since the launch of my novel, catching up on the publicity front and getting the word out to the masses. I had begun with Twitter, and then added my blog and Facebook fan page. I was also setting up book presentations with local bookstores. At the same time, I was also learning (and still am) about marketing and social media.

At present, I have the following accounts besides my blog:

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Goodreads
  • LibraryThing
  • Stumbleupon
  • Delicious
  • Author Central (Amazon)
  • Pinterest
  • Linkedin (plus relevant writing and publishing groups)
  • Tumblr

As you can imagine, I was spending a massive amount of time trying to figure out which platforms work better for me. Instead of taking a vacation this past month, I’ve been busy reordering my life. I’ve continued reading other writer’s blogs, but I’ve used the past month to evaluate my own writing goals, my dreams, my life goals, my thought
process, and in which direction my journey in life is taking me. Maybe watching
the Olympics has helped to unmask my own sabotage mission. If so, then I’m
grateful. I’ll tell you what I’ve learned this past month about myself:

  • I hate the word “procrastination” in every other aspect of my life (ask my husband), but I figured out that I’ve been procrastinating with my writing. I have been finding every excuse in the book to sabotage my writing. Yes, I said it. Why would anyone want to do that? I never thought that I would do that to myself because I can see the rewards at the end if I put the necessary work into massaging the craft of writing and improving my writing skills, but.. I have;
  • I have failed to write on a daily basis because of the procrastination;
  • I have worn myself out too thin and put too much of my time into a wide range of social media outlets. There are so many cool platforms that we can participate in
    nowadays where you can just let your imagination thrive;
  • My thinking process and ways of working are old school and tired;
  • I need a new and effective marketing strategy; and
  • I need more variance in my life.I need more variance in my life.

There, I said it!

So, what have I come up with during my time of reflection? How will I change what I’m doing on a daily basis so that I can grasp and realize my goals? I’ll tell you what action plans I’ve put in place and have begun to practice:

  • I’m going to remember, from reading other writer blogs, that I’m not alone. That means a lot!;
  • I will continually improve my thinking process so that I can complete more projects
    during the day. I’ve even begun to mindmap;
  • I have made the committment to write two hours every single day and have set a goal for finishing the first draft of my second novel (December 2012) and made a time schedule for blog writing (Monday, Wednesday, Friday);
  • I will set aside some time to reach out to two writing blogs as well as a local paper to build a relationship. Starting small, yes I am, but I will grow in time;
  • I will stop spreading myself thin with social media outlets, and put time in to the
    networks that work best for me so that I can enjoy building relationships with
    others (Tweeps, don’t worry – I will not forsake thee).
  • I won’t join a network or organization just because everyone else is;
  • I will continue to learn about the ever evolving social media and SEO because although my main goal is to enjoy writing books, it is also a business;
  • I will remember my milestones along the way to help me through the tough times when I think that my writing is just not good enough; and
  • I will enjoy learning about the craft of writing and improving my own writing skills.

Most importantly, I will remember that I am the only one that can keep me from obtaining my writing and life goals. Every day of hard work, committment,
and desire will bring me closer to achieving my goals and a sense of contentment.

Now, as I stated earlier, I know that I’m not the only one who has dealt with procrastination or sabotaging their career and life goals. For those of you that can relate, how have you dealt with your situation?

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

